OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT C4-99-404

AUG 3 1 1999



ORDER AMENDING MEMBERSHIP OF ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON THE RULES OF CHILD SUPPORT PROCEDURE

WHEREAS, in 1995 the Minnesota Legislature enacted Minnesota Statutes § 518.5511 requiring implementation in each county of an administrative child support process to resolve child support matters involving the public authority; and

WHEREAS, in *Holmberg v. Holmberg*, 588 N.W.2d 720 (Minn. 1999), this Court held that the structure of the administrative child support process under Minnesota Statutes § 518.5511 violates the constitutional constraints on the separation of powers; and

WHEREAS, during the 1999 session the Minnesota Legislature enacted legislation revising the child support system to place it within the judicial branch; and

WHEREAS, on March 12, 1999, this Court issued an Order establishing the Minnesota Supreme Court Advisory Committee on the Rules of Child Support Procedure, and in June 1999 the Advisory Committee recommended court rules; and

WHEREAS, in June 1999 this Court promulgated Interim Expedited Child Support Process Rules that are effective July 1, 1999, through June 30, 2000; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Order promulgating the Interim Rules this Court directed the Advisory Committee to monitor implementation of the Interim Rules, to assist in evaluation of the Expedited Child Support Process, and by March 1, 2000, to advise the Court with respect to any recommended revision of the Interim Expedited Child Support Process Rules; and

WHEREAS, two individuals are no longer able to serve as Advisory Committee members;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT the membership of Advisory Committee on the Rules of Child Support Procedure is hereby amended to provide that:

- 1. Jane Barnard McCoy shall replace Sean Fremstad as a representative of the Legal Services Advocacy Project; and
- 2 Tama Hall shall replace Michael Moriarity as the representative from Ramsey County Specialty Courts.

DATED: August 31, 1999

BY THE COURT:

Kathleen Blatz

Chief Justice